A Parent can go to any public event, practice, performance, recital, or game for their children regardless of the visitation schedule.
The Texas legislature meets every other year to handle the legislative processes for the State. Every two years new laws come out or old laws get changed. Some of those changes effect Divorce and Custody matters. The Legislature changed the law regarding what’s required if you want to modify an old custody/visitation order. Now, if […]
How do I settle my divorce case quickly? How do I settle my custody case quickly? How can parties work out their child support case without the need for costly litigation and court hearings? These are some of the questions I get after potential clients understand the possible costs of litigating a case. A full […]
I receive calsl asking whether a parent can register an out of state order here in Texas. The answer is, yes, but to what end? In Texas, to register an our-of-state Order, you follow the steps listed in Texas Family Code 159.602. Registering an Order from another state is usually accompanied with a request to […]
In Texas, when there is an old Child Support/custody case from before the Divorce was filed, the old child support/custody case needs to be transferred and joined up with the divorce case. See Texas Family Code 6.406 & 6.407 Child Support cases are sometimes filed by the Attorney General or when parties initially separate. Parties […]
In Texas, someone can make a Will on their own, but it must be in the person’s own handwriting and show “testamentary intent,” which means they intended the document to be their last will and testament. Texas Estates Code 251.052 allows that a Will, written wholly in the testamentor’s handwriting, is not required to be […]
Texas permits Spousal Maintenance, other states call it Alimony. To qualify for Spousal Maintenance under the Texas Family Law, you need to be married for at least 10 years or there was spousal abuse, AKA family violence, within 2 years of the divorce, or a medical issue during the marriage that prevents a spouse from […]
What do you do when you are still living in Texas but your spouse moves away? Where do you file for divorce if your spouse lives out of state? Texas Family Code 6.305 Provides that if the petitioner is a domiciliary of this state, i.e., has lived in Texas for at least 6 months and […]